Home > Design, Projects, Tools > TDD as a Means to Explore New Platforms

TDD as a Means to Explore New Platforms

On of my motivations behind the iRow project was to try a 100% TDD approach on a real world project. Being familiar with  features of .net testing frameworks (my favorite is MbUnit), my baseline expectations on the way such a framework should work and integrate into my development environment where set. Unfortunately, I was soon disappointed by the frameworks available. I have written about my research on iPhone unit testing frameworks before, so I won’t list their shortcomings here. In retrospective, working with a testing framework gave me unique opportunities to gain insight into the new platform.

The concrete advantages I experienced were:

  • learn about platform specific build systems and deployment details
  • forced to develop components in a loosely coupled fashion from the ground up
  • explore unique mechanisms of the language, that might require new or make known patterns redundant
  • fast compile-test cycle, less time spent in front of the debugger
  • combined with source control: painless experiments
  • combined with isolation framework: implementation shows how runtime manipulations can be made
  • testing framework implementation shows how code meta-data can be leveraged (or not leveraged)

I can imagine taking this approach to learning new platforms in the future. Plus, I think knowing how to verify the own code is an essential skill on every platform.

Categories: Design, Projects, Tools
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

