Home > General > Internship at Inishtech: Awesome!

Internship at Inishtech: Awesome!

Three weeks ago my (ongoing) Stackoverflow endevaour finally began impacting my real-life when I started my Internship at InishTech in Dublin, Ireland. It’s a really fortunate incident I met one of their devs on SO and was offered this position after a short follow up. Now that I’m here I cannot express just how much this internship exceeds my expectations.

So what the the hell does InishTech do then? Let me just quote that from their web presence:

InishTech provides Software Developers and Product Managers globally with code protection and licence management solutions to protect their most valuable assets and enable them to provide their customers with the ability to deploy and use their products in the most flexible manner possible.

I’m working on a top secret project to bring support for all the new constructs CLR evolution brought along to their Code Protection solution. Here’s what it does:

Using a unique technology from InishTech called Code Transformation, the InishTech SLP Code Protector takes selected DLL’s and functions within the DLL and virtually compiles (or transforms) them into a vendor-specific format called Secure Virtual Machine Language (SVML). The functions that are transformed to SVML format appear like regular MSIL functions (in terms of interfaces), but are much harder to reverse engineer. Furthermore, SVML runs on top of the .NET platform (CLR), to help ensure interoperability and code optimization.

If you now think “hey that’s cool!” I can assure you it definately is. Working with low-level stuff like this involves a lot of knowledge about CLR internals and is deeply technical but highly interesting . What I’ll be discovering on my way (and have already discovered) will likely be shared on this blog, so stay tuned for some interesting stuff on CLR internals.

Ok, so how’s it like being an Intern at InishTech? It’s great! Let me give you a few reasons why:

  • They took care of organizing my accommodation and helped me with all the usual relocation troubles (public transport etc.)
  • Modern, bright office in Central Dublin. Two beautiful parks are just around the corner.
  • Dual monitors for every developer, cutting edge hardware (QuadCore, 8Gb), ergonomic chairs
  • Agile development process paired with a passion for high quality code
  • A great team that is dedicated to constant self-improvement in technical skill and process
  • Joel-Test Score: 10 out of 12 (sums up all the above points)
  • Doughnuts every Friday, Social activities (FIFA WM, Pub strolls…)

I could probably continue like this for a while and still forget all the small things that make it a great company to work for. Oh, and they’re hiring too.

Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

