Home > General, Tools > Force iTunes to reread all ID3 Tags in your Library

Force iTunes to reread all ID3 Tags in your Library

I recently did some cleanups in my music library (not that I did anything by hand, I used Music Brainz Picard, a fingerprint based song database).

Now the only trouble was that iTunes just doesn’t offer an easy way to update all Tags in its database with the updated ones from my library. Fortunately, I found this nice little Apple Script (note to myself: In the unlikely event I’d have some spare time, learn some Apple Script, it seems very very powerful).

Why am I sharing all this? Because it took me like 30 mins of googling to find out. Maybe I’m gonna increase the page rank a bit 😉

Categories: General, Tools
  1. Bernie
    August 19, 2012 at 00:28

    Many thanks … seems I`m not the only one trying to update his tags in his library 😉

  2. April 29, 2013 at 23:32

    Hey, thanks so much! Yes, two years three months later someone else (me) had the same issue (being unable to find a trigger to make iTunes re-read tags when changing them outside using Picard) and you had the solution all along 🙂

  1. January 17, 2011 at 02:04

Leave a Reply

